Plaques

Plaque vendor comparison: six makers of National Register plaques

John HarrisonUpdated October 2026

Six established makers sell National Register plaques direct to owners: Franklin Bronze Plaques (Pennsylvania), Healy Plaques (Rhode Island), Impact Signs (Illinois), Gemini, Masterwork Plaques (New York) and The Southwell Company (Texas). Franklin publishes a complete price list; Healy and Impact publish ranges or starting prices; the other three quote per job. Lead times, where stated, run from 14 business days to 5 weeks.

Everything below comes from the vendors’ own web pages as read in October 2026, and is stated “as of October 2026”. Where a page did not give a figure, the table says so rather than guessing. The National Park Service, which keeps the Register, issues no plaques and endorses no maker; several of these companies appear on the NPS and state vendor lists only as a public service. This site has no affiliate, advertising or referral relationship with any of them. For the material decision, read bronze vs aluminum vs etched plaques first; for wording and rules, National Register plaques.

Comparison table

Franklin Bronze PlaquesHealy PlaquesImpact SignsGeminiMasterwork PlaquesThe Southwell Company
Location (per site)Franklin, PAManville, RILaGrange, ILNot stated on pages readHastings-on-Hudson, NYCorpus Christi, TX
MaterialsCast bronze and cast aluminumSolid bronze or solid aluminumCast bronze, cast aluminumCast bronze (alloy NAVY-G-88-8-04), cast aluminum (alloy 365), etched stainless, bronze, brassCast bronze, etched metal (stainless shown)Cast bronze and cast aluminum
Sizes4 x 2 in to 60 x 40 in; “any size” on requestFour standard sizes (dimensions not published) or customTypically 6 to 84 in wide, 6 to 48 in tall; configurator to 96 inCast: 2 x 2 in up to 36 x 96 (bronze) or 60 x 96 (aluminum); etched up to 36 x 72Not statedNot stated
Published pricesFull standard-size sheet (effective 10/01/25): $135 to $5,962; extra letters $0.53, extra lines $16Standard National Register $247 to $1,140; custom $247 to $1,620; oval historic $211 to $747Cast bronze from $218; cast aluminum from $159; add-ons listedNone; discount mentioned for identical plaquesNone; quotes within 24 hoursNone; quote form
Stated lead timeNot statedNot stated4 to 5 weeks after proof approval; proofs 3 to 6 business days; ground shipping 3 to 5Cast 14 business days, etched 11 (US, page dated Oct 28, 2026)Estimated delivery window given after design approvalNot stated (“RUSH” promised)
Mounting optionsStandard hardware included free; custom methods, tamper-resistant pin-in-hex and fence systems extra“Mounting option” chosen at order; details not publishedBlind studs with template, screws through face, garden stake (8 x 12 in or smaller), 6 ft post with angle bracket; rosettes R2 to R7; hardware includedBlind, solid wall, hollow wall, wood wall, thru-hole (no hardware); stucco needs spacers and studs; stake and post mountsHidden stud (stainless rods set in epoxy), front mount with screws, VHB tape for small plaquesNot stated
FinishesBackground finishes and textures, standard borders (menu only)Colour, border, background texture, fontBrushed satin, polished, patina, oxidized; clear coatPolished (+50%), oxidized (+15%), beveled edge (+20%); five textures; four clear coatsBackground colour, texture, border; etched finish optionsNot stated
WarrantyWarranty page linked; terms not read“Lifetime Guarantee” (terms not published)Not statedWarranty page linked; ground installations excludedNot statedNot stated
National Register pageYes, 12 example plaques; image add-on $450 to $1,000Yes, standard wording includedNo dedicated pageNo dedicated pageNo dedicated pageYes; rectangle, oval, half-circle and colonial shapes

Vendor notes

Franklin Bronze Plaques

The most transparent on price. The PDF price sheet dated October 1, 2025 covers rectangular standard sizes from “20 square inches and less” ($135) to 48 x 36 inches ($5,962), with the letters or lines included at each size; a 12 x 8 inch plaque is $357 and a 24 x 18 is $1,323. The pricing page warns that prices change without notice and that images, portraits and non-standard hardware add cost; adding a property image to a National Register plaque is quoted at $450 to $1,000 on top of the plaque. Minimum letter height is 1/4 inch for capitals or 3/8 inch for mixed case. Standard mounting hardware is included; fence systems and tamper-resistant hardware cost extra. Lead time is not stated. Franklin is the authorised maker of the American Planning Association’s Great Places plaques and is on the Tennessee and Washington SHPO vendor lists.

Healy Plaques

Based in Manville, Rhode Island, and named on the Georgia, Tennessee and Washington SHPO lists. Its National Register page prices standard plaques at $247 to $1,140 and custom plaques (up to six lines of your own text) at $247 to $1,620, in solid bronze or solid aluminum, with a lifetime guarantee and “made in the USA”. The standard plaque includes what Healy calls the recommended wording of the National Register. Dimensions, lead times and hardware details are not on the pages we read; the product pages behind each “choose options” button may have them.

Impact Signs

LaGrange, Illinois. Publishes starting prices (cast bronze $218, cast aluminum $159) and a full add-on menu: logo $95, UV-printed image $350, etched photo $550, photo relief $695, bas relief $2,100; free shipping over $500. It is the clearest on timing: proofs in 3 to 6 business days, 4 to 5 weeks’ production after approval and payment, 3 to 5 business days’ ground shipping, rush available for a fee. Thickness is 1/4 to 1 inch standard. Mounting choices are blind studs (template included), face screws with optional rosettes, a garden stake for plaques 8 x 12 inches or smaller, and a 6-foot post with angle bracket.

Gemini

A manufacturer whose published specifications are the most detailed of the six: alloys, a thickness schedule by area, maximum sizes, five background textures, finish surcharges and a full list of mounting methods, including the note that stucco walls need spacers and studs. Its lead-time page is updated with a date (October 28, 2026 when read) and gives 14 business days for cast and 11 for etched plaques. Prices are not published. Gemini’s warranty excludes plaques installed in or on the ground.

Masterwork Plaques

Hastings-on-Hudson, New York. Cast bronze and etched work, quoted per project, with a promise of a designer’s reply within 24 hours. Its installation FAQ is useful even if you buy elsewhere: hidden stud mounts use stainless steel rods epoxied into drilled holes and are hard to remove, so Masterwork recommends them for exterior plaques, while a front mount with four corner screws is “the ideal option” for a plaque that may need to move. VHB tape is offered only for small, light plaques. Each shipment includes installation and care instructions.

The Southwell Company

Corpus Christi, Texas (the Tennessee SHPO list gives an older San Antonio address). Cast bronze and cast aluminum National Register plaques in rectangle, oval, half-circle-with-seal and colonial shapes. No sizes, prices, lead times or hardware are published; the site routes everything through a quote form and promises to rush the order.

Two more names you will see

Sewah Studios (Marietta, Ohio, per the Tennessee SHPO list) makes the cast roadside historical markers used by many state programs. Its mounting pages describe a 7-foot single post set 3 feet into the ground, a two-post option for large markers, and concealed wall mounts with epoxied bolts. It publishes no prices or lead times. It is the right call for a marker on a post, not a wall plaque.

US Bronze (New York) has a National Register plaques page that promises any size and “a reasonable price” but lists no sizes, prices or lead times.

One company on several state lists, Erie Landmark Company, could not be assessed: when we loaded its domain in October 2026 it returned unrelated content rather than a plaque catalogue, so it is omitted here.

How to use this table

  1. Fix the wording and size first (the standard sentence fits comfortably on 10 x 8 or 12 x 8 inches). Take the exact listing name from the property’s page on this site, found through the address lookup.
  2. Ask two or three vendors for a quote at that size in both bronze and aluminum, and ask what hardware is included and what the lead time is today.
  3. Decide the mounting method before you order, because blind studs, face screws and post brackets are cast in differently. Mounting a plaque on historic fabric explains which method suits brick, stone, stucco and wood.
  4. If the property is in a locally designated district, check whether the commission must approve the plaque or its fixings first; the SHPO directory will point you to the state office that knows the local rules.

Frequently asked questions

Which company makes the official National Register plaque?

None. The National Park Service does not issue plaques and endorses no maker. State offices publish vendor lists as a public service and say the same. Any company's National Register plaque is a private product using the NPS's suggested wording.

Which plaque makers publish prices online?

As of October 2026, Franklin Bronze Plaques posts a full price sheet, Healy Plaques shows price ranges on its product pages, and Impact Signs shows starting prices. Gemini, Masterwork Plaques and Southwell quote per job and publish no prices.

How long does a plaque take to make?

Impact Signs says 4 to 5 weeks after proof approval; Gemini's lead-time page (October 28, 2026) gives 14 business days for cast plaques and 11 for etched. Franklin, Healy, Masterwork and Southwell do not state lead times on the pages we read.

Do plaques come with mounting hardware?

Usually for standard mounts. Franklin includes standard hardware at no charge; Impact includes hardware and a template for blind-stud mounts; Gemini's thru-hole option includes no hardware. Ask what is in the box before you book an installer.

Does this site earn anything from these vendors?

No. nationalhistoricalregister.com has no affiliate, advertising or referral relationship with any plaque maker, and none of the links on this page are tracked.

Sources

General information, not legal or tax advice. Researched from the sources above and drafted with AI assistance; published under the editor's name, corrections welcome. See the editorial policy.